This Roller Coaster Ride Called Life

This weekend was full of the highs and lows of life for me. I was faced with the frailty and mortality of life when my uncle passed away suddenly Thursday night (which is why I have been absent for the past few days…). Amid the pain of losing such a close family member and making arrangements to be home with my family, I had the joy of spending time with dear friends at a beautiful wedding. Not only was my spirit lifted by being around such wonderful people, but I was accompanied by the love of my life. Meet Jordan! (Sorry this is blurry! My handy dandy little iPhone couldn’t get a quality picture!)

This sweet man had literally been halfway across the world less than 48 hours before the wedding. He was in Bangladesh for a mission trip, making water filters for the villages. But he still mustered up the energy to go to our friend’s wedding! He’s pretty great!

The wedding was held at my church, Crossland Community Church, and the reception was held at the Party 1 Barn off Russelville Road. Bridesmaids wore all different dresses – some in blush, others pink, another in ivory, and the maid of honor in gray. The bride paired her dress with long strands of pearls and multiple bangles complete with some bling! And the groomsmen looked ravishing in gray vests and pants. No jacket required!

While I don’t have pictures of the actual wedding, here are some wonderful examples of the kind of wedding I’ve been describing!

The bride wore more of a ball gown dress, but here is an image from Simply Savannah Events that gives the idea of multiple pearl strands and bangles…

I’m slightly obsessed with these blush bridesmaids gowns from Pretty Brass Tacks

And I just love these groomsmen in khaki suits with no jacket from Style Me Pretty. Perfect for a more casual wedding! Or better yet, a BEACH wedding!

While the reception had vases with real flowers, I adore these painted vases and origami flowers from Lovely Bride.

And I love the bright colors in these low centerpieces from The Sweetest Occasion. Not to mention the chiavari chairs. Lovely!

Last but not least, the wedding favors at the wedding I attended were mason jars wrapped in lace and filled with candy corn and peanuts. And if you haven’t tasted that combination you probably should. It tastes just like a Payday candy bar! While they aren’t exactly like what I received, these pictures show just a few options of DIY wedding favors and decor using mason jars and candy corn!

Don’t these mason jars from The FW look beautiful with the tea light?! They’re simply glowing!

Or how about these cute favors with burlap and twine instead of lace from Etsy?!

Now you have oodles of pictures to peruse, and some pretty awesome websites too! Happy browsing!

Much love,

Laura

One thought on “This Roller Coaster Ride Called Life

Leave a Reply

